Why the Internet is awesome

This is an email I wrote to my good friend. I’m lazy and decided to make it a blog post.

I was going to send you this: http://abclocal.go.com/wls/story?section=health&id=4800754

because it’s a nice in-your-face to teachers that told you to sit up straight. But then I was distracted by an article about Pamela Anderson and Kid Rock breaking up. And then underneath it, I saw this snippet:

==============
“Elton John left the stage briefly during a weekend concert in Brisbane after being struck by a bout of nausea.

John left the stage without a word about two hours into his Sunday oncert. He was gone for about five minutes, the Australian Associated Press reported yesterday. When he returned, the 59-year-old pop star used an Australian olloquialism to explain that he had left the stage to vomit. “I hought I’d better chunder in the toilet (rather) than all over the front row,” he was quoted as saying.”
==============

So now I’m sure you’re thinking, “ok so what?”

Wait for it.

Then I’m thinking: chunder. that’s kind of a weird word. hm…where have I heard that. HOLY CRAP. CHUNDER. It’s in that Land Down Under song by Men at Work (http://www.lyricsdomain.com/13/men_at_work/land_down_under.html).

One of the refrains is ” I come from a land down under, Where beer does flow and men chunder.” Ever since I first heard that song 15 years ago I’ve been so confused by that line. And NO ONE knew what chunder meant.

I can’t tell you how many conversations I have had with people when I heard that song. “Chunder? What is that? Do you know what that is? Does anyone know? What a weird word. I wonder if it’s dirty. ” The worst part was we’d always be away from a computer so we’d never look it up; we’d always want to, but it wasn’t important enough to actually remember to do.

Now I know. Chunder means to throw up. That line is talking about Australian men drinking and throwing up. I’m very happy right now. One of the great mysteries of my life has been solved.

And that is why the internet is awesome.

2 thoughts on “Why the Internet is awesome

Leave a Reply

